All creatures Great and Small

Explore & discover

Gift shop

How to get here

Step inside… The World of James Herriot…

Like millions worldwide, you’ve probably read his books or watched All Creatures Great and Small, or maybe you’ve heard of James Herriot on the TV series The Yorkshire Vet. Well why not come and see where James Herriot, the world’s most famous vet, lived, worked and wrote his incredibly successful series of books based on his experiences as a young North Yorkshire vet.

There’s so much to see & do…

Walk through his fully-restored 1940s home and surgery in Thirsk; travel back in time to what life was like when James was practicing. See the car he drove, step into the TV set, try your hand at being a vet, plus so much more including interactive games for Herriot fans of all ages. A visit to the World of James Herriot is something you will never forget.

Fans of Steve & Jeanie Green…

Our new book “Steve & Jeanie Green… Life on the Farm“, available now online and in our gift shop.

The perfect gift…

A World of James Herriot gift Voucher makes the perfect gift for fans of the books or the “All creatures Great & Small” TV series.

World of James Herriot
White rose Awards Winner
the yorkshire vet
Visit England
British Coach Tourism awards
World of James Herriot
CPT coach friendly status

There’s loads to see and do behind that famous red door. Well worth a visit to experience his work place, home and where his writing emerged”.

Visit the original home and surgery

Are you a fan of All Creatures Great & Small?

Come and see where it all began…

See our new All Creatures Great & Small exhibit room including the original model of the surgery from the new series on Channel 5.